Matching Articles"Geography" (Total 38)

  • Within Labrador, this ecozone occupies the northernmost section.
  • The Strait of Belle Isle ecoregion occupies the northern tip of the Northern Peninsula. It is characterized by cool summers and cold winters.
  • The largest ecozone, the Boreal Shield, extends in a broad, U-shape from northern Saskatchewan to Newfoundland.
  • An article on the Central Newfoundland ecoregion which covers the north-central part of the island of Newfoundland.
  • This ecoregion is composed of islands, exposed headlands, and protected inlets, from Napaktok Bay south to the Strait of Belle Isle.
  • One very important feature of Newfoundland and Labrador is that the geological boundary of North America lies offshore at the edge of the continental shelf.
  • The Eagle Plateau ecoregion comprises the Mealy Mountains and an area south of Lake Melville in southern Labrador.
  • A look at the the three ecozones of the island of Newfoundland: Southern Boreal, Middle Boreal and Northern Boreal.
  • The province's many species of plants depend on water that is stored in the surface of the soil.
    The province of Newfoundland and Labrador has ample fresh water, the source of which is abundant precipitation.
  • This ecoregion covers an area west of Lake Melville in southern Labrador.
  • The Kingurutik/Fraser Rivers ecoregion takes in several other mountainous outcrops, including the Mealy Mountains, south of Lake Melville.
  • This ecoregion is located on the perimeter of Lake Melville. It has humid, cool summers and cold winters.
  • The Torngat Mountains of northern Labrador contain some of the finest examples of alpine glacial landforms in Canada.
    The landscape of Newfoundland and Labrador has had a remarkable geological history, formed over many millions of years
  • This ecoregion is divided into three separate upland areas, extending from the southwestern coast of Newfoundland to its Northern Peninsula.
  • The Maritime Barrens ecoregion extends westward across the southern half of the uplands of Newfoundland to the Long Range Mountains.
  • This ecoregion extends across the southern Labrador border with Quebec and runs northwest to the southern boundary of the Smallwood Reservoir.
  • An article on the New Quebec Central Plateau ecoregion which comprises the Kaniapiskau Plateau and a large part of the Lake Plateau to the south and east.
  • The bringing together of ancient oceans and continents has given Newfoundland three geological zones: the Western, Central and Eastern zones.  Each of these zones has distinct rock types and geological histories.
    Rocks on the Island of Newfoundland are divided into three zones - Western, Central and Eastern.
  • The Northeastern Newfoundland ecoregion covers the north shore of Newfoundland from the Northern Peninsula to Bonavista.
  • The Northern Peninsula ecoregion is located along the forested parts of the coastal lowlands of the Northern Peninsula.