Matching Articles"Animals" (Total 27)

  • Harp seal pups are also known as Whitecoats, named for their fuzzy white “coat” of hair which is shed within three weeks of birth.
    The bulk of seals taken annually in the Gulf of St. Lawrence and off the eastern coasts of Newfoundland and Labrador are Greenland seals, or harps.
  • Within Labrador, this ecozone occupies the northernmost section.
  • The Avalon Forest ecoregion is located in the interior of the Avalon Peninsula.
  • The Strait of Belle Isle ecoregion occupies the northern tip of the Northern Peninsula. It is characterized by cool summers and cold winters.
  • The largest ecozone, the Boreal Shield, extends in a broad, U-shape from northern Saskatchewan to Newfoundland.
  • An article on the Central Newfoundland ecoregion which covers the north-central part of the island of Newfoundland.
  • This ecoregion is composed of islands, exposed headlands, and protected inlets, from Napaktok Bay south to the Strait of Belle Isle.
  • The Eagle Plateau ecoregion comprises the Mealy Mountains and an area south of Lake Melville in southern Labrador.
  • This ecoregion covers an area west of Lake Melville in southern Labrador.
  • The Kingurutik/Fraser Rivers ecoregion takes in several other mountainous outcrops, including the Mealy Mountains, south of Lake Melville.
  • This ecoregion is located on the perimeter of Lake Melville. It has humid, cool summers and cold winters.
  • This ecoregion is divided into three separate upland areas, extending from the southwestern coast of Newfoundland to its Northern Peninsula.
  • The Maritime Barrens ecoregion extends westward across the southern half of the uplands of Newfoundland to the Long Range Mountains.
  • This ecoregion extends across the southern Labrador border with Quebec and runs northwest to the southern boundary of the Smallwood Reservoir.
  • An article on the New Quebec Central Plateau ecoregion which comprises the Kaniapiskau Plateau and a large part of the Lake Plateau to the south and east.
  • The antlers lying on the ground indicate the presence of caribou and other wildlife in this region.
    Newfoundland and Labrador is part of two different types of biomes, the tundra and the taiga.
  • The Northeastern Newfoundland ecoregion covers the north shore of Newfoundland from the Northern Peninsula to Bonavista.
  • The Northern Peninsula ecoregion is located along the forested parts of the coastal lowlands of the Northern Peninsula.
  • The Paradise River ecoregion is located in the southeastern section of Labrador.
  • The Smallwood Reservoir/ Michikamau ecoregion can be divided into two sections in Labrador.