Newfoundland & Labrador's Registered Heritage Structures
Blackwood Commercial Premises
The Blackwood Commercial Premises is a wooden one and a half storey gambrel-roofed building. Constructed around 1850, it is a good example of an outport shop with an original storefront and intact interior. Inside the building, features such as wall shelves and wooden and glass showcases point to its use as a commercial premises. On the exterior, the front facade presents a typical outport storefront, with large display windows.
The building has been used as a commercial premises since the time of its construction. It was possibly built to provide storage space for salt fish, but by the late 1800s the Genken family operated a general store there. In the early 1900s the building was once again used to store fish from the Labrador fishery. During the 1930s and 1940s Fanny Fiander used the building as a sweets shop, but by the 1970s it was converted to a general store once again.
The Trinity Folk Art Craft Shop is presently located in the Blackwood Commercial Premises.
The Blackwood Commercial Premises was declared a Registered Heritage Structure by the Heritage Foundation of Newfoundland and Labrador in April 1999.