While this structure served as the family dwelling for the Goodlands in Harbour Grace for most of the twentieth century, the actual origins of the house are something of a mystery.
According to family lore, the original owners of the house are thought to have been the Taylor family; again, this cannot be said with certainty. There were two Taylors living in Carbonear during the mid to late 1800s. One was a sailing captain, William E. Taylor; the other a clerk, Eugene Taylor. Records lean toward Eugene Taylor living at the house, but not owning it. It is possible that he was leasing the dwelling from an absentee landlord.
The most noted of the house's occupants was the Goodland family. A. J. and Edith Goodland first began leasing the property around the turn of the century. Goodland was the principal of St. Francis High School in Harbour Grace for many years. The Goodlands are remembered for their volunteer work and for helping members of the community with personal and business affairs.
In 1948 Edith Goodland bought the lease of the house, which was then owned by the Town of Harbour Grace. After her death the house became the property of her daughter, Mrs. Sam Hawkins.
The Goodland House is unique in several different ways. The fact that it survived two, possibly three, major fires make it an important dwelling. It is located on Victoria Street, a middle-class stronghold during the last century. Many of the individuals living there were clerks, accountants, mariners and storekeepers.
The house is of timber-frame construction on a dry-laid stone foundation. It has three bay windows with original six-over-six windows intact on front and sides, and features a hipped roof with a centre four-flue chimney. While central chimneys are by no means unique on the Avalon Peninsula, this house represents one of the best-preserved examples of this style.
Goodland House was recognised as a Registered Heritage Structure in April 1995.
Updated September, 2004