Terms of Union
Signing of the Terms of Union between Canada and Newfoundland, 11 December 1948.

Sir Albert Walsh (seated, right), chairman of the Newfoundland delegation, signs the Terms of Union at the Senate Chamber, Parliament Buildings in Ottawa. Seated next to him is Canadian Prime Minister Louis St. Laurent. Standing (left to right): Hon. Milton F. Gregg, Minister of Veterans' Affairs; Hon. J.J. McCann, Minister of National Revenue; Hon. Brooke Claxton, Minister of National Defence; F.G. Bradley, G.A. Winter, Philip Gruchy, J.R. Smallwood and J.B. McEvoy.

Courtesy of Unknown/National Archives of Canada/PA-128072. From Peter Neary and Patrick O'Flaherty, Part of the Main: An Illustrated History of Newfoundland and Labrador (St. John's, Newfoundland: Breakwater Books, ©1983) 164.
Government and Politics - Table of Contents Site Map Search Heritage Web Site Home