History of the Colony of Avalon
Beothuks

Migratory Fishery

Permanent Settlement at Avalon

Kirke's Plantation

Dutch Raid of 1673

Winter of 1696

Walking Tour

Archaeology

The Artifacts

Visiting the Colony of Avalon

Special Documents:

Historical documents

Ferryland names





Introduction

The history of Ferryland is long and fascinating, spanning more than 500 years.

James Yonge's map of Ferryland, ca. 1663.
From F.N.L. Poynter, ed., The Journal of James Yonge, 1647-1721, Plymouth Surgeon (London: Longman, Green & Co. Ltd., ©1963) Plate 4 A: "Part of the coast of Newfoundland, showing Ferryland", facing 81.
Larger Version with more information (65 kb)
James Yonge's map of Ferryland

Prominent players in the area's history include Beothuk Indians, migratory fishermen from western Europe, and European settlers who first began to arrive in 1621. Sketches of these topics are given below.

Lead Weight Lead Weight, ca. 1675.
A 17th-century lead weight found at the Ferryland archaeology site. It would have been used in the handline migratory fishery which took place at Ferryland during the 1600s.

Courtesy of the Archaeological Unit, Memorial University of Newfoundland, St. John's, Newfoundland.
Larger Version with more information (10 kb)

Sir George Calvert, the first Lord Baltimore.
In 1620, George Calvert (1579/80-1632) purchased a parcel of land in Newfoundland from Sir William Vaughan. The land extended from just south of Aquaforte to Caplin Bay (now Calvert). The following year, Calvert's colonists set off for Ferryland under the leadership of governor Captain Edward Wynne. After the colony had been established, Calvert obtained a larger land grant from King James I of England, who awarded him "the Province of Avalon".

Reproduced by permission of the Colony Café. Painting by Stewart Montgomerie, 1997. Original housed in the Colony Café, "The Pool", Ferryland. The painting can be viewed during regular business hours.
Larger Version with more information (63 kb)
Sir George Calvert, Lord Baltimore

Although the archaeological history of Ferryland essentially stops with the French raid of 1696, the succeeding two centuries are filled with fascinating characters and events. Many of these are interpreted at the Ferryland Museum, a short distance from the Colony of Avalon Visitor Centre.

Top of Page

© 1999, Colony of Avalon Foundation.

Revised March 2002.





Partnered Project Heritage Web Site Project
Memorial University of Newfoundland
Heritage Web Site Project Site Map Search Home Search Home Site Map Visiting the Colony of Avalon Artifacts Archaeology Walking Tour