Green Family Forge
One of the many forges that used to exist in Newfoundland, Green's Forge is unusual, not only because it still exists and is in excellent shape, but also because of its large size.
The Green family rebuilt the current forge sometime between 1890 and 1900. They abandoned the forge in 1955 and it remained unused for several decades. In the early 1990s the family donated the forge to the Trinity Historical Society. The society has since converted the forge into a working blacksmith museum. Many of the tools the Greens used, along with some of the items they created, can still be found in the forge.
The exterior of Green's Forge has been extensively renovated in the years since its acquisition by the Trinity Historical Society. The exterior of the forge is typical of many other forges in Trinity Bay. Made of a mixture of wood and concrete, it has a very simple design. It is unusual, however, because of its large size. The interior boasts two blacksmith's fireplaces and bellows. The forge also had an area reserved exclusively for the shoeing of horses.
Green's Forge became a Registered Heritage Structure in June 1991. It won the Southcott Award for restoration from the Newfoundland Historic Trust in 1998.