The Labrador Boundary

Privy Council Documents

Volume VIII


Division of the
Province into
Electoral districts
for the Legislative

Divisions for the
Legislative Council.

Judicial districts.

divisions : County,
city and town

Division of county

Basis for the
division of the


Names, &c., of
electoral districts.

What is com-
prised within
electoral districts.

Banks of a
river in district.

Boundary of
district by a

of nearness
of island, &c.,
to a district.


Names of




Laws in force in

Suspension of fish
and game laws, &c.

Annexation to
certain counties for
certain purposes.

Appointment of
justices of the peace.


R.S., 3363 to apply.

p. 4020

No. 1506.




62. For the purposes of the Legislature, the Province of Quebec is divided :
(1) Into seventy-five electoral districts for the representation of the people in the Legislative Assembly—R. S. Q., 60, § 1 ; 53 V., cc. 2 and 3 ; 59 V., c. 6.
(2) Into twenty-four divisions for the Legislative Council, comprising the four districts mentioned in article 85—R. S. Q., 60, § 2 ; 55-56 V., c. 2, s. 1.

63. The Province is also divided :
(1) Into twenty-one districts for the purposes of the administration of justice ;
(2) Into seventy-five divisions for registration purposes ;
(3) Into seventy-one county municipalities, and into city and town municipalities, constituted by special act or by letters-patent for municipal purposes—R. S. Q., 61 ; 53 V., c. 2 ; 55-56 V., c. 45 ; 60 V., c. 15 ; 62 V., c. 7 ; 2 Ed. VII, c. 11 ; 3 Ed. VII, c. 38, s. 14.

64. County municipalities are subdivided, in conformity with the Municipal Code, into rural, village and town municipalities—M.C. 2 ; R. S. Q., 62.

65. Except for cities and towns, and with the modifications mentioned in their proper place, the division into electoral districts shall serve as a basis for the other divisions—M. C., 24 ; R. S. Q., 63.

66. The Province also comprises three territories—62 V., c. 5, s. 5.


67. The seventy-five electoral districts are named, described, bounded and composed as follows :—R. S. Q., 64 ; 53 V., cc. 2 and 3 ; 59 V., c. 6.

p. 4021

SAGUENAY.—The county of Saguenay is bounded on the south and southeast by the gulf and river St. Lawrence ; on the south by the parallel of the forty-eighth degree of north latitude as far as the county of Chicoutimi ; on the northwest and west by the county of Chicoutimi ; on the north by the parallel of fifty-two degrees and fifty-five minutes north latitude, and by the line dividing the waters of the basin of the river St. Lawrence. from those of the river Ashuanapi, Hamilton or des Esquimaux, and on the east by the limits of the Province, and includes the islands and islets of Mingan, the island of Anticosti, and the nearest islands situated wholly or in part opposite to such county.
The county, so bounded, comprises the townships of Saguenay which includes the municipality of St. Firmin, Sagard, Tadoussac which includes the village of. Tadoussac, the townships of Albert, Bergeronnes, Escoumains Lagorgendière, Lalande and Iberville, the seigniory of Mille Vaches or Portneuf, the townships of Laval, De La Tour, Pontgravé, Fitzpatrick, Royer, Cannon, Grenier, Pontchartrain, Phellyppeaux, Cery, St. Vincent, Chevalier, Bonne Espérance, Brest, Peuvret, L'Archipel Ouapitagone, L'Archipel Washicooti, Duchesneau, Liénard, Bissot, Charner, Légardeur, Cook, Archipel de St. Augustin, Bougainville, d'Audebourg, Montesson, Boishébert, Rochemonteix, Archipel de Kecarpouï, Archipel de Ste. Marie, Beaune, Bellecourt, Brouage, Marsa, Archipel du Gros Mecatina, Archipel du Petit Mecatina, Archipel du Vieux Fort, Blanche, Betsiamites, Manicouagan, Laflèche, De Monts, Le Neuf, Arnaud, Letellier and Moisie, the parish of St. Pierre de la Pointe aux Esquimaux, and all other territory comprised within these limits—R. S. Q., 64, § 54 ; 53 V., c. 2, ss. 1, 3 ; 62 V., c. 6, s. 8 ; 3 Ed. VII, c. 6, s. 1.
68. These electoral districts include all places within their respective limits, although not expressly enumerated in the list of places comprised—R. S. Q., 65.

69. That portion of a river of which the two banks are within one electoral district, is comprised therein—R. S. Q., 66.

70. The limits of every electoral district bounded by a river extend to the middle of such river—R. S. Q., 67.

71. The nearness of an island or islet to an electoral district is measured by the relative distance between either side of the island or islet and the shore of the opposite electoral district—R. S. Q., 68.


76. The whole of the territory of the Province, between the north-eastern, northern and north-western limits of the counties of Pontiac, Mont-calm, Joliette, Berthier, Maskinongé, St. Maurice, Champlain, Lake St. John,

p. 4022

Chicoutimi and Saguenay and the north-eastern, northern and north-western frontiers of the Province, as defined in the act of the Parliament of Canada, 61 Victoria, chapter 3, and the act of this Legislature, 61 Victoria, chapter 6, is divided into three territories named : “ Territory of Abittibi ; ” “ Territory of Mistassini ” and “ Territory of Ashuanipi ”—62 V., c. 5, s. 1.

77. The said territories are described as follows :
(1) The territory of Abittibi is bounded on the north and on the west by the limits of the Province ; on the north-east by the new territory of Mistassini ; towards the south by the county of Pontiac ; and towards the south-east by the counties of Montcalm, Joliette, Berthier, Maskinongé, St. Maurice, Champlain and Lake St. John.
The territory, so bounded, includes the basin of James' Bay, less that part watered by the rivers East Main and Rupert.
(2) The territory of Mistassini is bounded on the north and west by the limits of the Province ; on the south-west by the new territory of Abittibi ; and on the south-east by the counties of Chicoutimi and Lake St. John.
The territory, so bounded, includes the basin of the East Main and that of Rupert river.
(3) The territory of Ashuanipi is bounded on the north, east and west by the limits of the Province : and on the south and south-west by the county of Saguenay.
The territory, so bounded, includes the basin of the river Ashuanipi, Hamilton or Esquimaux, as well as all other parts of territory watered by water-courses flowing directly towards the Atlantic—62 V., c. 5, s. 2.

78. The laws and regulations in force in the Province are and shall be in force in the said territories, in so far as they may apply and in so far as not modified or amended by competent authority.
The Lieutenant-Governor in Council may, however, suspend in the said and game laws, &c. territories, in whole or in part, and for such time as may be thought proper, the laws respecting game and fisheries, and may make, amend and repeal such regulations as he may deem expedient respecting such matters—62 V., c. 5, s. 3.

79. For judicial and registration purposes, the territory of Abittibi shall be deemed to form part of the county of Pontiac, the territory of Mistassini to form part of the second division of the county of Lake St. John, and the territory of Ashuanipi to form part of the county of Saguenay—62 V., c. 5, s. 4.

80. The Lieutenant-Governor in Council may, by commission, appoint one or more residents in any of the said territories as justices of the peace, with jurisdiction over all the territories or over that one or those which he shall be pleased to indicate.
The persons so appointed shall be British subjects of the full age of twenty-one years, but need not possess any of the other qualifications required of justices of the peace.
Article 3363 shall apply to such justices of the peace—62 V., c. 5, s. 5.


Partnered Projects Government and Politics - Table of Contents Site Map Search Heritage Web Site Home